Mkulima today the ministry of agriculture is working on helping small-scale farmers and small households. As part of the executive arm of our government, they work with parliament to ensure everything is ok for you and I. Meet the men and women in parliament in charge of agriculture at the parliament building.

This small group of men and women are the ones who work day and night to ensure the right laws are made t run the ministry of agriculture and its value chain.


Parliamentary committees are a vital organ in the working of the legislatures. Without the committee’s proceedings of a Legislature could grind to a halt because of the huge volume of activities.

So as to reduce the work load of the house duties as divided by the speaker.

Committees are agents, which enable Legislatures to organize their work in such a way as to perform numerous activities simultaneously and expeditiously.

Read more

Ministry of agriculture launches free online training courses for farmers

Ministry of agriculture management structure

The top 7 projects at the ministry of agriculture


Some of the committee duties include but not limited to

(i)  Reviewing legislation;

(ii)  Reviewing and approving the budget ;

(iii)  Scrutinizing governance activities,

(iv)  Conducting investigations ;

(v)  Vetting and approving executive appointments;

(vi)  Providing a platform for public participation.


These are the names and now meet the men and women in parliament in charge of agriculture

Chairman – Hon. Tiren, Silas Kipkoech. (Jubilee party-Moiben) Bachelor of Commerce. (Management)

Vice chair – Hon. Waruguru, Catherine Wanjiku. (jubilee party – Laikipia) Bachelors of Business Management.

Committee Members

Hon. Odanga, Geoffrey Makokha. (ODM Matayos) Bachelor of Education (Arts).

Hon. Leonard, Yegon Brighton. (Jubilee party Konoin) Masters of Science in Information Systems. (RM & AM)

Hon. Mukuha, Gabriel Kago. (Jubilee party Githunguri) Bachelor of Business Administration.

Hon. Leshoomo, Maison.(KANU Samburu)

Hon. Owino, Martin Peters
Hon. Mutunga, John Kanyuithia
Hon. Yussuf, Adan Haji
Hon. Waititu, Francis Munyua
Hon. Sitienei, Janet Jepkemboi
Hon. Wakhungu, Chrisantus Wamalwa
Hon. Kibiwot, Julius Melly
Hon. Arati, Paul Simba
Hon. Kamene, Joyce
Hon. Makokha, Justus Murunga
Hon. Wanyonyi, Ferdinard Kevin
Hon. Mbarire, Cecily
Hon. Njomo, Jude L. Kangethe

The Senate

Chairperson – Sen. Ndwiga Peter Njeru

Vice Chairperson – Sen. Wambua Enoch Kiio

Committee Members

Sen. Waqo Naomi Jilo
Sen. Murkomen Onesimus Kipchumba
Sen. Mbito Michael Maling’a
Sen. (Eng.) Ephraim Mwangi
Sen. Madzayo Stewart Mwachiru
Sen. Boy Issa Juma
Sen. Kabaka Boniface Mutinda

Having an agribusiness question? Do you know of a successful agribusiness venture or story that you wish to share? I would like to hear from you. Send me the TIP(s) at

Like and follow MkulimaTODAY on Facebook | twitter | Pinterest | Instagram share this article and leave comments or questions or WhatsApp me +254700761190 on what you would like me to write on in the next article.